> How do I sign up to FileX?
^ How do I sign up to FileX?
Visit MediaSaaS App Store
to sign up for a free trial (credit card required - no payment will be taken if you cancel before the end of the trial period).
We will send you an Admin user name and password and organisation name by email. You will then be able to log in (you will be prompted to change your password on first login) and configure other users, upload, share and download files.
> I forgot my password. How can I get a reset?
^ I forgot my password. How can I get a reset?
If you are a organisation administrator, email mediaSaas (details in your onboarding email) and we will reset your password and send you a temporary new one. You will need to reset this on next login.
Users set up by organisation administrators should ask their administrator to reset their password for them. This can be done from the admin>user section of FileX (only available to administrators).
An automated password reset will be available in the next release.
> What files can I share using FileX?
^ What files can I share using FileX?
Although FileX was designed to share large files used by the media production industry (anything up to 1TB in size), FileX will work equally well with small files.
If you intend to share many small files, we suggest you zip these up first so that users receiving files don't have to individually download too many files.
> Why does the home page show deleted files?
^ Why does the home page show deleted files?
When a file is deleted, it continues to use space for up to 90days. After 90days, the file no longer takes up any more space. In order to keep our costs low, we track deleted files for 90 days from creation, and these will continue to take up space until this time is passed.
If you require more space and you have a lot of deleted files, get in touch with mediaSaaS and we will do what we can to help free up space for you.
> I deleted a file by mistake. Can I get it back?
^ I deleted a file by mistake. Can I get it back?
Unfortunately, once a file is deleted, it is lost forever. FileX is intended to help you share files, not act as a permanent file storage system, and has not been designed to keep files indefinitely. Always keep a backup of files you share.
If you do accidentally delete a file that you are still intending to share, you can always upload it again and then share it again.
> Can I send files anywhere else?
^ Can I send files anywhere else?
We have big plans for FileX! As it is part of the mediaSaaS ecosystem, we can integrate with other applications providing a secure upload front-end. We are also planning to provide functionality to allow files to be sent to other AWS S3 buckets and FTP destinations. Keep an eye out for announcements!
^ how do I report a bug?
An issue reporting system is coming soon. In the meantime, please email mediaSaaS at the address shown in your onboarding email.
^ What is a Quick Link?
A Quick Link is a unique and secure URL that allows you to share a file with anyone (by sending them the URL via email, instant messaging etc.), even if they don't have a FileX account.
^ Is FileX secure?
FileX is built using industry best practice security. All client to server communications are via https and all API calls require an encrypted token unique to each user. Users will be prompted to change their password every 90days.
All passwords are stored in our database using one way encryption, meaning even if a hacker managed to take a copy of the database, they wouldn't be able to see the passwords.
Files are stored centrally and can only be accessed via the FileX web app or by Quick Links which only have validity for a user determined length of time.
In the unlikely event that suspect your account or files have been compromised, please inform us as soon as possible so we can take remedial action.
> I have closed my account. What happens to my files?
^ I have closed my account. What happens to my files?
If you close your account, firstly we are sorry to see you go! We hope you find some more use cases in the future that will bring you back to us.
FileX is a file sharing service and not intended as a storage system. On closing your account, all files that you own will be deleted immediately and cannot be restored. We highly encourage you to make alternate backups of all files that you upload to FileX.